Migrating to Ubuntu (part 2)

My wife and I had been together for just under 4 years when I proposed to her last February on Brooklyn’s promenade.  Then, this past May, we saw our wedding come and go in a whirlwind. It was one of the happiest days/weekends of my life, and I cannot imagine my life without her at this point.

Needless to say, we are happy to be back to our normal routine.  With the wedding behind us, it also meant I could move on to phase 2 of my Ubuntu/LAMP stack adventures.

As I was gearing up to install Ubuntu over Windows 2000, I looked for articles and how to’s about the process. I was somewhat encouraged to come across this article. I also found this installation guide helpful in giving me an idea of what I was in store for.

My only reservation was how well Ubuntu would play with my 10 year old machine. For this reason, I decided to go with the current LTS version: 10.04.

First snag was running into this error when it came time to partition the hard drive:

ubi-usersetup exit code -11

After a hard reboot, it did not surface again and I continued on with the instillation. Then I was stuck in purple screen limbo with many “SQUASHFS error: Unable to read fragment cache entry/Page block” errors.

I was beginning to rethink my approach.  Meanwhile, I had to dig deep, but I was able to locate the specs from when I purchased the machine.  This is my starting hardware:

  • Motherboard: P2/3 VIA  ; PC133 ; ATX
  • Processor: Intel Coppermine 866 MHz, Pentium III
  • Memory: 256 MB PC133 SDRAM
  • Video card: M64 32 MB w/NVIDIA TNT2

256 MB Ram is at the absolute low end of what Ubuntu requires and is probably the source of my problems.  While looking for alternatives, someone directed me to LUbuntu, a lightweight distribution of Ubuntu.  Given the age of my machine, I went with 10.04, which still supports older hardware.

I have to say, installing LUbuntu was painless, despite the age of my hardware!  All I needed to do was set up a user, pick a timezone, and tell it how to partition the hard drive.

So long microsoft

Now, my machine boots in no time and it no longer starts up directly into Microsoft Visual Studio Debugger.  WIN!  I’m looking forward to getting set up and diving deeper into what Ubuntu/LUbuntu offers.

Leave a Reply

