Gettin’ cozy with Apache2

Setting up an Apache2 web server has probably been one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, hands down.  This post is mainly to serve to document and remind future me what I learned setting up Apache2 on my LUbuntu machine.

For starters, I found Ubuntu’s community page for setting up Apache quite helpful: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP

(Notes about basic Apache usage):

default dir: /var/www/

sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 start   #start apache
sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 stop   #stop apache
sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 restart   #restart apache

cp default (sitename)
sudo nano (sitename)
sudo a2dissite default && sudo a2ensite (sitename)
	enables/disables symlinked filein ./sites-enabled
sudo /etc/init.d apache2 reload

Then I had a problem adding a folder to /var/www.  I didn’t remember to edit as super user (thank you StackOverflow):

 sudo su
 sudo mkdir mysite
 (etc)

I found the following helpful just to see setup explained 2 different ways:

For setting up an FTP service to upload files to my web directory, this website helped the most.  I found it easier to follow then this Ubuntu forum page.

Finally, with a little bit of tweaking to my router, I could finally access a static web page from other computers on my home network.  Victory!

Leave a Reply

