Setting up my dual boot laptop…

This post is mainly to help me remember how I set up my laptop.

First, I installed windows 8 preview using this page.  I couldn’t run the app from my XP desktop, but I was able to on the windows 7 I was about to overwrite.  My sole reason for maintaining a copy of windows is that I have 1 program that’s not Linux compatible and want to retain this option for now.  I know there are options for running windows VM’s from within Linux, but I wanted to first try the dual boot option.

Moving on to the second half of the dual boot, I found this page for creating a bootable USB drive with LUbuntu.  I was able to install LUbuntu without any issue.  The only problem I have at present is that the laptop boots directly to windows rather than providing me the choice.  I know I need to look into installing/configuring/fixing Grub, but for the time being, booting from my USB gives me the choice between Windows & LUbuntu.

Additionally, this is what I’ve installed so far for programs:


sudo apt-get install gcc
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install make
sudo apt-get install git
sudo apt-get install mercurial
sudo apt-get install vim
sudo apt-get install apache2
sudo apt-get install python-pip
sudo apt-get install sqlite3
sudo apt-get install virtualbox

sudo pip install django
sudo pip install ipython
sudo pip install virtualenv

In retrospect…

I probably should have gone with straight up Ubuntu rather than LUbuntu like I did for my web server.  The laptop is newer and I should not have been so concerned about hardware support, especially since I think I’ll be relying on my laptop more for development vs my makeshift web server.

What’s next for my laptop?

  1. Install/configure/fix Grub so I can boot to Ubuntu without needing my bootable USB.
  2. Trick out Vim… or at least a) modify the syntax highlighting b) help me write more PEP-8 compliant code, and c) validate my javascript (jslint?).  I know there is a universe of options out there, but I need to start with baby steps.
  3. Get more comfortable with command line Git and explore pre-commit hooks to validate python/javascript/css/etc…
  4. Explore boot scripts.
  5. Get my one windows program installed and figure that whole situation out. (possibly play with VM from Ubuntu)
  6. Possibly replace LUbuntu with Ubuntu
Leave a Reply

