Revisiting my laptop config

A few months ago, I set up a Windows8/LUbuntu dual boot laptop.  Two weeks ago, I decided it was time to switch to straight Ubuntu.  Some of my reasons:

  • I never figured out why the laptop would boot straight to windows instead of giving me the option to pick Windows/LUbuntu.  I always had to boot from my install USB to get the option. (However, in hindsight I have a thought…)
  • I didn’t like Windows 8’s new user interface.  It may have been ok if I had had a touchscreen device, but since I was holding out because of one application, this was not worth maintaining the dual operating systems.  (I’ll look into some kind of VM or emulator once I get my development environment set up again and I haven’t found a Linux alternative to my one windows application)
  • I had difficulty participating in sprints at PyOhio because I didn’t realize that some of the core applications/packages that developers use were not part of the LUbuntu distribution.  This cost me time on a slow internet connection that could have been better spent elsewhere.

I decided that if I was going to make the switch, to do so sooner would be better than later since I haven’t yet set up my development environment in any significant way.  I didn’t want to go through all that work only to recreate it after reinstalling.  This webpage was helpful in creating a bootable USB, and I was off installing Ubuntu 12.10.

One problem I did encounter post install is that I couldn’t boot without my USB plugged in.  However, once I switched the boot order in my BIOS settings so that the hard drive came first, it would boot fine.  This made me suspicious that if I had done the same thing while  Windows 8 + LUbuntu were installed, I would not have had the boot issues I did.

At any rate, with the install of Ubuntu 12.10 complete, my next task is figuring out how to configure Vim to suit my needs.

Leave a Reply

