Goals for 2014 – part 1

One of my biggest take-aways from 2013 was that I don’t stop to re-evaluate my situation often enough.  So, my biggest goal is to check in on my progress in July rather than wait until December.  With that said, here are my goals for the first half of 2014:

Personal

  • Run a half marathon in under 2 hours.
  • Regularly work out (gym, bike, run, yoga), especially in the winter months. (Let’s say regular = 3 times per week).  I let this slide Oct-Dec last year when winter and the holidays descended and am not off to the best start so far.  Physical health is important, especially if I am ever going to make that half marathon goal, but generally it’s just a good thing to work for.
  • Strive to be a better partner.  (Always room for improvement here)
  • Read (and finish) at least 4 books by July.  (One down)
  • Even though I’ve made some good progress on my productivity, I still get stuck with tunnel vision at times.  I need to keep working on this.

Professional

  • Attend a professional conference.  I am already signed up for the UofI Web Conference.  I’m not sure if PyOhio is in the cards this year.
  • Build up CU Coders by holding at least 2 events, one of which being a hackathon.  Weekly coding nights are great, but C-U needs more.
  • Write at least 12 blog posts by July 1.  I’m keeping the same goal as last year because I have a lot more to write about now.  I have a few I might resurrect from draft purgatory, plus I’ve already written one for Pixo!
  • I still want to publish a site built in Django and an iPhone app.  The Django project I have in mind should be feasible to complete by July.

General

  • Stop procrastinating and finish tasks promptly.
  • Re-evaluate in July
Leave a Reply

