Goals: Looking back on 2014 and ahead to 2015

I know this post is a bit late… ok, really late.  2014 proved to be a very full and active year, marked by the arrival of our new daughter mid summer.

LishBaby

My daughter passed out with mama after a busy day at the farmer’s market.  It’s as if the Chinese fortune cookie knew.

MeBaby1

Checking out the river walk in San Antonio.

baby2

Happy Halloween from an inquisitive little bee.

I never fully appreciated how much one’s schedule will change when a child is thrown into the mix, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Ok, down to the business at hand.

Reflecting on 2014

First to checkin on the goals I made for the first half of 2014

Personal

  • Run a half marathon in under 2 hours?  Check!  I ran the Illini Half Marathon in Champaign-Urbana last April and hit a personal record of 1:54:45.
  • Regularly work out?  Check – kind of.  I always struggle with this come November.  It’s easy to drop personal wellness in the face of busy weekends and colder weather leading into the end of the year.
  • Strive to be a better partner?  Check, though I did notice a drop in the personal wellness at the end of the year correlated with a drop in being a responsive partner.  I think there’s something to be said about how keeping one’s own self in basic working order makes it easier to be considerate of the people around you.
  • Read 4 books?  Sass for web designers, The Signal and the Noise, On Becoming Baby Wise, ??
  • Make progress on productivity.  Incremental progress here.  Always a work in progress, this one.

Professional

  • Attend a professional conference?  Check!  (UofI WebCon)
  • Plan 2 CU Coders events?  Miss.  Realized I over committed myself last spring, then had no time after my daughter was born.  (which was decidedly more important to me.)
  • Wrote 8 out of my goal of 12 blog posts.  I’m really ok with that because I think they were some good ones.  It’s all about quality, not quantity.
  • Build a site in Django and an iPhone app.  Miss. Again, really over-estimated how much work these two were going to take.

Goals for 2015

Usually I would like to do this in January, but the thing about life is that you have to adapt to whatever’s going on.  The best time to do something is always yesterday.  The second best time is today.  That said, time to look ahead to the rest of 2015:

Personal

  • Maintain my physical and mental wellbeing with regular exercise, yoga, etc.  Extra effort come next Winter, I really want to break that annual pattern.
  • Last year, it was a new baby.  This year, moving!  We can do this!
  • Read (and finish) 5 new books this year.

Professional

  • Last year, I attended a training camp for AngularJS and enjoyed it, but I don’t use it as often as I’d like.  This year, I want to get more comfortable with angular by doing a few small apps to get the basics down.
  • I really missed writing last fall/winter.  This year: write at least 12 blog posts this year between this blog and my employer’s blog.
  • Try out at least 1 static site generator.
  • Not feel like this come December:

baby1

 

Leave a Reply

