Mac Development Environment

I didn’t do this before I switched jobs (and laptops), so no time like the present.  Here is a quick run down of my basic mac setup to help me with my software development work.

  • VirtualBox + Vagrant : some kind of virtual machine environment is a must for isolating a server environment and making it easily reconstructible.
  • iTerm2: a slightly more sane terminal window for Mac.
  • Text Editor: atom.  I originally looked at this because of a third party plugin that offered remote code pairing.  It worked nicely but I ended up not needing to rely on it.  Another feature I like is the live markdown preview.  All in all, a nice editor.
  • .bashrc vs. .bash_profile (article)
Leave a Reply

